Snapchat Says Add Friend After Deleted: Why?

Here’s why Snapchat says add friend after you deleted them:

This option is available in case you want to add a friend you removed from your list.

This covers instances where you accidentally removed someone as a friend and situations where you change your mind about having them on your friends list.

If you tap the option, you will be able to restore the deleted friendship.

So if you want to learn all about friendship on Snapchat and why it says add friend after you deleted them, then this article is for you.

Let’s delve into it!

Snapchat Says Add Friend After Deleted: Why? (All the Info)

What Does It Mean to Be Friends on Snapchat?

To really understand this whole scenario, it helps to explain that Snapchat is a little different from other social media platforms.

The whole “friends” thing is subtly different in a few important ways, so let’s get into that.

First, friends on Snapchat are similar to other social media platforms in a few ways you might expect.

It’s easy to find, follow, and communicate with your friends on Snapchat.

You can send Snaps to each other.

You can maintain a streak with a friend.

You can even see each other’s Snap scores.

What’s really different is that friendship on Snapchat is kind of one-sided.

To become friends, you can simply add someone from your contacts or the Snapchat database.

Find the person you want to add, hit the “+Add” button, and that’s it.

They are on your friends list.

But, that doesn’t mean that you are on their list.

Instead, you go onto the “Added Me” list for them.

They can add you back, or they can not. That’s up to them.

What it ultimately means is that the friends’ experience can be different for you and the people you add.

If you add someone, they can see your Stories, but unless they add you, you won’t be able to see their private Stories.

You can also adjust how some of this works in your privacy settings.

With a lot of other social media apps, friendship has to be mutual.

You both have to accept the friend request before this type of connection is built.

What Does It Mean to Remove a Friend on Snapchat?

Since adding friends is a little different on Snapchat, removing friends is also distinct from other social media experiences.

To understand this better, let’s assume that you and the other person are mutual friends.

If from that point, you remove the friend, they won’t be able to see your private Stories anymore.

They also won’t be able to see your Snap score.

But, you will both be able to see saved snaps and exchanges that you have shared on the app.

Depending on your privacy settings, they might also be able to send you chats or Snaps.

They will also be able to see that you have removed them as a friend.

They don’t get an outright notification, but they can tell that you are no longer friends.

They won’t be able to see your private Stories or Snap score, so if they are paying attention, they’ll understand what happened.

How to Remove a Friend on Snapchat

If you want to remove a friend from your list, the process is very easy.

You can start by going to your Chat screen.

Look for the friend you want to remove.

Tap and hold on to their name.

You’ll get a list of options, and you want the one that says “More.”

After you tap on “More,” you will get additional options.

“Remove Friend” is among them.

Tap on that, and the process is complete.

What About Blocking Contacts on Snapchat`?

Removing a friend isn’t your only option for managing communication via Snapchat.

You can also block contacts, and this is considerably different.

First, if you block a friend, they will automatically be removed from your friends list. 

If you block them, they cannot see any of your Stories or Charms, and they cannot send you Snaps or Chats.

So, if you block a friend and they try to contact you, they’ll know right away.

(Technically, it might be hard for them to know whether you blocked them or just deleted your account.)

Blocking is intended to be a more severe option, but you can still unblock a contact at any point.

Keep in mind that unblocking a contact does not automatically re-add that person as a friend.

How to Block a Contact on Snapchat

If you need to block a friend, then start by going to the Chat screen.

Once again, find the friend in question and tap and hold on their name.

Choose “More” from the visible options, and then tap “Block.”

To unblock a friend, go to your profile icon.

Tap the settings button.

Scroll through the options until you find “Blocked.”

That will give you a list of everyone you have blocked on Snapchat.

Find the person you want to unblock, and tap the X next to their name.

That will unblock them.

What Happens if You Add a Friend Back on Snapchat?

Ok. Let’s return to the original question.

Why does Snapchat say “Add Friend” after you removed them?

That’s because Snapchat makes it easy for you to re-add a friend after you deleted them from your friends list.

The idea is that removing a friend is not a permanent decision, which is especially important if you did it by accident.

Also, relationships change over time, so there are plenty of cases when it makes sense to add someone as a friend again.

What happens when you do this?

It’s a lot like when you added them the first time. They will be able to see your Stories and Charms.

It will be easy to find them to send them messages and Snaps.

If they never removed you from their list, then adding them back is pretty simple.

If you removed each other, then they will have to add you back to fully restore the communication that was once available.

There are two specific things worth noting.

First, if you add them back and they still have you as a friend, then you will be able to see Snaps they sent while they weren’t on your friends list.

Second, when you add someone back, you will go onto a specific list on their account.

It’s called “Snapchatters who have added you back.”

So, there’s no hiding that you removed them and then added them back.

How to Add a Friend Back on Snapchat

If you want to add a friend back, here are the steps.

Tap on the “Add Friends” button (it looks like a silhouette with a plus sign).

Search for the person you want to add.

Tap the “Add” next to their name.

That’s all it takes.