Here’s whether a factory reset removes your Android updates:
No, a factory reset will not remove your android update.
A factory reset allows you to delete all your data and settings.
A factory reset leaves the phone with all of the stock applications it came with.
However, a factory reset doesn’t roll back the Android update.
If you want to learn more about Android’s factory reset, then you’re in the right place.
Table of Contents
- What Is a Factory Reset?
- What Does a Factory Reset Remove?
- What Happens to the Stock Applications After a Factory Reset?
- What Should You Do Before a Factory Reset?
- Why Do People Factory Reset?
What Is a Factory Reset?
A factory reset, or sometimes also known as a hard reset or a master reset, is a total software reset of a phone, laptop, or pretty much any electronic device.
The factory reset takes the device back to its original state by erasing all the information stored on the device.
It doesn’t matter what brand of smartphone you are using.
A factory reset works the same way on all devices running Android OS.
Usually, you can find the factory reset option in the settings.
Some brands also have an input button combination to take your device into recovery mode directly and factory reset from there.
Once a factory reset is initiated, the device starts removing all data, settings, and applications that were on the device.
Everything that wasn’t on your device before you purchased your device is essentially wiped from your device. This means applications, your contacts, your messages—even hidden data like cache and hidden files.
Everything gets deleted.
After a factory reset, your device only has the stock applications that it shipped with.
But the one good part is that even if it was originally running an older version of the Android OS, the factory reset doesn’t roll back the android update.
Your phone will still be running the same version of Android OS after the reset.
What Does a Factory Reset Remove?
The factory reset removes any data that wasn’t fed into it before the device was sold to you.
So that means that stock applications will remain. Even the bloatware your company pre-loaded into your device will come back after a factory reset.
This is because your device is going back to the state it was in when the device was first loaded with the Android OS.
So that means any personal data like contact information, messages, hidden files, pictures, or hidden files that are on the device itself are removed.
It is important to note data on external devices will not be wiped. This means if your device has a microSD card, the data on that will be safe and will not be erased.
The same is the case with data saved on your SIM card.
Only the data on the unit is wiped. So don’t worry; you don’t need to take out your microSD card before performing a factory reset.
What Happens to the Stock Applications After a Factory Reset?
So, depending upon what brand of smartphone you are using, your smartphone will ship with a few stock applications.
These applications are the contacts app, call dialing app, texting app, and camera app, etc. This can vary from brand to brand.
After the factory reset, all stock applications are reinstalled on your device.
So, if you didn’t like using stock applications and had them uninstalled or disabled, they will return.
But the stock application will lose all its updates, so they may need to be updated via the Play Store or your brand’s own app store.
For example, Samsung uses its Samsung Galaxy Store to update all the stock applications.
So, you will have to uninstall or disable all the stock applications if you don’t like them.
In case you do like the stock applications and want to use them, then you will have to update all the applications since applications do lose their update after a factory reset.
Unlike your Android OS itself, as it does not remove the Android updates, and your phone will be running the latest Android OS version after a reset.
What Should You Do Before a Factory Reset?
So now that you have made up your mind to do a factory reset, what are the things you should keep in before actually doing it?
Well, backing up your data of course.
Whatever the reason for the factory reset, always back up data.
Maybe you are doing it to fix a bug, or maybe you are giving your phone away.
You will need your personal data unless you are going fully off the grid, but I don’t think you would be reading this guide if that was the case.
Backing up your personal data makes sure that your personal data is safe and ready to be transferred to the same device or a new one.
The easiest way to set up a backup on your Android device is using Google Drive.
Follow these steps to set up a backup on Google drive. Don’t worry; these steps are the same for all android devices:
- Open the Settings application on your Android device.
- Go to System and then back up.
- Turn on the Backup to Google Drive option.
- Under this option, there will be a tab called account.
- If you had previously put in a Gmail account, it should be showing here. If not, you can just click it and then input your Gmail address and password.
- If you have multiple Gmail addresses showing, just select the account you want to back up to.
- It will also show how long since your android smartphone was backed up.
- Just click on the blue back up now button to start backing up your personal data.
Note that this backup doesn’t backup all things. The system backup on Google Drive only saves the following information:
- Google Calendar events and settings
- Wi-Fi networks and passwords
- Gmail settings
- Apps (it will save what apps you had and automatically reinstall these after a restore)
- Display settings (brightness and sleep)
- Language and input settings
- Date and time
- Settings and data for apps not made by Google (this varies from app to app)
You might have noticed this backup doesn’t back up your pictures and videos.
And I am guessing no one wants to lose those after a factory reset. Thankfully Google also has a fix for that.
You can back up all your pictures and videos using a google application called Photos.
Download the Photos application from the play store.
Set the application up with your personal settings. After that, it will begin uploading all your pictures and videos to the cloud.
Depending upon how large your library is and how fast your internet connection is, this may take some time.
Once all your personal media has been backup to Google Photos, you can take a sigh of relief.
All your cherished memories are now safe. Now you can factory reset your device without a worry in the world.
Once the factory reset is complete, you can restore all your personal data to your new device or the older one.
There are other ways to backup your data as well. Some options involve saving your data to the cloud, like Google Drive and Google Photos.
But there are also options to backup and restore your data offline on your personal computer if you don’t trust those big tech companies with your data.
Whatever direction you choose to go, just make sure you backup your device before a factory reset. Because you won’t get another chance to get your files back.
Why Do People Factory Reset?
A factory reset is needed in a lot of different cases. For example, if you are selling your phone to a stranger.
You want to protect your data and privacy. Doing a factory reset is the safest and fastest way of ensuring your device is wiped clean from your personal data.
This way, you have peace of mind that any user data, no matter how hidden on the device, has been removed.
Factory reset is also helpful sometimes to fix a malfunctioning device.
Sometimes a software bug is causing the device to behave abnormally. If the problem can’t be identified or diagnosed, doing a factory reset usually does the trick.
This is because a factory reset removes all data and settings. So, if any user interaction caused the bug, it shouldn’t exist on a completely reset device.